Skip to content
spilma

Orange Connected Validation: IoT device labels

Orange validates connected devices through Orange Connected Validation, a programme presented on its IoT Journey portal. It awards three labels, Orange Assessed, Orange Connected and Orange Approved, and an Orange connectivity certificate, and can list the product in the IoT Journey catalogue. This page is built from what Orange itself publishes: the validation page, the label FAQ, the catalogue, the Orange Business LTE-M and LoRa coverage pages and the Orange 2G and 3G shutdown calendar. Where Orange is silent (GCF prerequisite, eUICC scope, timelines), the page says so instead of guessing, and it compares Orange with what Vodafone and Deutsche Telekom actually document. The common baseline for the radio side remains RED compliance in Europe; GCF is discussed below.

ItemWhat the Orange documents say
NameOrange Connected Validation (IoT Journey catalogue page)
Who it is forDevice manufacturers, or companies deploying an IoT use case, that want to validate a connected object on the Orange network
Networks namedLoRa, LTE-M, 4G and 5G ("smooth operation of your products on Orange networks")
Where tests runOrange Innovation labs or approved partner labs, plus field tests on various infrastructures
SupportA delivery manager supports the manufacturer throughout the validation phase
Outcome"Orange Connected" label, Orange connectivity certificate, inclusion in the IoT Journey catalogue on request
Geographic meaning of the labels"Guarantee that the products have been tested on Orange networks in Europe" (label FAQ)
Entry pointThe page offers a contact address, device.validation@orange.com
Fees, lead timesNot published
GCF, PTCRB, eUICC scopeNot mentioned on the validation pages

The validation page describes two phases:

  1. First phase, preliminary tests outside the lab. Documentary compliance verification, basic functional tests, network connection test. Orange calls this an assessment of the maturity of the object, "with additional functional tests if necessary".
  2. Second phase, additional tests in the lab and in the field. Network interoperability tests, roaming tests, energy consumption tests, log analysis and project support, carried out in an Orange Innovation lab or another approved lab. Orange states that these tests validate "connectivity and energy consumption", and that field tests check basic procedures on various infrastructures.

At the end, Orange awards the label and the connectivity certificate, and the product can be listed in the catalogue if the manufacturer wishes.

The label FAQ defines three levels. The table below sets them side by side on the criteria Orange itself uses.

CriterionOrange AssessedOrange ConnectedOrange Approved
Lab testingNo ("checked by Orange but not tested in the laboratories")Yes, connectivity and energy consumptionYes, end to end
Documents checkedCE certificate, technical specifications, user guides(lab label)(lab label)
TestsEnd-user tests: connect to the Orange network, data transfer to the data management platform, device settings and features, display of collected dataNetwork connectivity (radio performance, interoperability) and energy consumption of the device or moduleConnectivity, energy consumption, security, quality (labelling, packaging, CRS, WEEE), integration with the Live Objects platform, GPS performance, functional tests
Applies toDevices; also modules deployed in large numbers on Orange networks, identified from network reports, but not lab testedModules and devicesDevices, "usually reserved" for devices sold by an Orange business unit as part of an Orange offer
Version tieBrand and model checked; hardware and firmware versions not specifiedValidation on a specific hardware and firmware version onlyValidation on a specific hardware and firmware version only
Path to the next levelAssessed devices "can be included in the roadmap" for lab testing

Two practical consequences follow. First, an Orange Assessed module in the catalogue is not a lab-tested module: read the label, not just the presence in the list. Second, Connected and Approved labels are tied to the tested hardware and firmware, so a firmware change on the cellular stack falls outside the label until Orange tests the new version.

The catalogue itself is filterable by technology (5G, 4G-LTE, VoLTE, LTE-Cat M, NB-IoT, LoRaWAN) and by label. The LTE-Cat M list, for instance, includes modules from Nordic Semiconductor, Quectel, Sequans, SIMCom, Telit, Thales and others, alongside development kits and trackers.

The Orange validation pages do not name GCF or PTCRB. Orange is involved in GCF governance (the GCF board page lists an Orange director among the 2026 operator directors), but nothing Orange publishes for IoT Journey makes GCF certification an entry condition. Plan GCF according to your other operator targets and contracts, and ask Orange Business whether your contract requires it. The three large European operators document this point differently:

CriterionOrange Connected ValidationVodafone Connectivity CertificationDeutsche Telekom certification
What is certifiedDevices and modules, three labelsChipsets, cellular modules and IoT devicesChipsets and modules, certified by DT itself
GCFNot mentioned on the validation pagesComplete device-level GCF certification required (lab test, field trial, registration); GCF of the radio module alone is not sufficientNot required from module suppliers; GCF status decides Full or Limited Certification
Where testedOrange Innovation labs or approved partner labs, plus field testsVodafone Innovation Park, DüsseldorfDT Group Test Facility, against DT networks
Public listIoT Journey catalogue with labels (Assessed, Connected, Approved)Optional listing on a Vodafone reference pageDetailed list of DT-certified modules with firmware versions
eUICC remote provisioningNot stated on the validation pagesSGP.02 and SGP.32 (conformance and end to end)SGP.22 and SGP.32 stated; nothing documented on SGP.02; nuSIM
Own public LoRaWANYes, France (and Reunion in the 2022 commitment)Not covered by its certification documentsNot covered by its certification documents

For a product aimed at the three operators, nothing is mutualised: each runs its own tests and issues its own result. Device-level GCF is the most demanding of the three requirements (Vodafone), so a product that targets Vodafone will usually have it anyway.

Networks in France: LTE-M, LoRaWAN, no NB-IoT, 2G ending

Section titled “Networks in France: LTE-M, LoRaWAN, no NB-IoT, 2G ending”
TechnologyWhat Orange states for FranceSource
LTE-MCommercial launch November 8, 2018, with more than 98% of the population covered at launch; Orange Business now states more than 99% of the metropolitan population, on low frequencies (800 MHz)Orange newsroom, Orange Business LTE-M page
LoRaWAN95% of the French population, more than 30,000 municipalities; extra coverage added on customer demandOrange Business IoT network page
NB-IoTNo NB-IoT coverage published for France; in April 2022 Orange Business said it had not, for now, found NB-IoT relevant in FranceOrange Business pages, Journal du Net interview
2GShut down in waves in 2026, fully off in mainland France on October 20, 2026, except regulatory white zones (between December 1 and December 15, 2026)Orange networks site
3GShutdown in 2028 in mainland France and overseas territoriesOrange networks site

Elsewhere in the group, the technology mix differs. Orange Belgium announced nationwide NB-IoT and LTE-M on December 7, 2017, and the November 2018 Orange release names Belgium (May 2018) as its first LTE-M network and Spain and Romania as the next launches. The catalogue NB-IoT filter therefore lists products for Orange networks that do run NB-IoT; it does not mean NB-IoT exists in France.

The 2G shutdown calendar (Orange, mainland France)

Section titled “The 2G shutdown calendar (Orange, mainland France)”
DateArea
March 31, 2026First wave in the South-West pilot zone (Basque coast urban area)
May 12, 2026Second wave, two South-West departments
June 9, 2026Third wave, the remaining seven South-West departments
September 22, 2026City of Nice
October 6, 202644 departments
October 20, 2026 (scheduled)43 departments; the Orange 2G network is then fully off in mainland France
December 1 to December 15, 2026 (scheduled)Regulatory white zones lose 2G access
20283G shutdown, mainland France and overseas

Orange also announces 2G shutdown waves in the French Antilles and Guiana (generalised on September 29, 2026), states that 2G is already off in Reunion. For Mayotte, the shutdown is announced for the end of 2026. The earlier Orange Wholesale notice gave a different pilot date (March 9, 2026) and "end of December 2026" for full shutdown; the calendar on the Orange networks site, above, is the more recent one. For a device design, the conclusion is the same: a 2G fallback is no fallback on Orange France from late 2026.

Orange runs a public LoRaWAN network in France alongside its cellular network. Its commitments are dated:

DateEvent
April 5, 2022After Bouygues Telecom announced the end of its Objenious LoRaWAN network, Orange Business said it would operate its LoRaWAN network in France and Reunion at least until December 31, 2027
September 20, 2023At the SIDO show in Lyon, Orange Business said it would extend its LoRaWAN network beyond 2027
November 15, 2023Netmore Group announced it was taking over the Objenious LoRaWAN assets from Bouygues Telecom and would operate and expand that network in France

Orange publishes no end date beyond "beyond 2027". The catalogue has a LoRaWAN filter, and Orange names LoRa among the networks covered by the validation. LoRaWAN device certification by the LoRa Alliance is a separate programme; the Orange validation pages do not state it as a prerequisite. RED compliance applies to the radio in any case (the 863-870 MHz band in Europe).

For a device first built for the Objenious network, the network is now operated by Netmore, and moving it to Orange or another operator means re-provisioning the LoRaWAN join parameters on the new network.

Live Objects is the Orange Business IoT platform. An October 2022 Live Objects blog post states that it manages SMS, MQTT and LoRaWAN devices and adds LwM2M device management over CoAPs, and routes data to the customer cloud or web servers. It is distinct from the validation programme: only the Orange Approved label lists "integration to Live Objects platform" among its tests, and a device can be Orange Assessed or Orange Connected without any Live Objects integration.

eUICC and energy efficiency: what to prepare without an Orange rule

Section titled “eUICC and energy efficiency: what to prepare without an Orange rule”

Orange publishes no eUICC scope for the validation. The GSMA specifications are the reference to plan against:

  • GSMA SGP.32: the eSIM IoT Technical Specification, version 1.2 of June 27, 2024. It adds an eSIM IoT remote Manager (eIM) and an IoT Profile Assistant, either in the device (IPAd) or in the eUICC (IPAe), next to the SM-DP+ and SM-DS.
  • GSMA SGP.22: the consumer eSIM specification, with a Local Profile Assistant (LPA) for devices with a user interface.
  • GSMA SGP.02: the older M2M architecture.

Which one your Orange contract uses is a question for Orange Business. If you also target Vodafone, its certification covers SGP.02 and SGP.32; Deutsche Telekom states support for SGP.22 and SGP.32.

The Orange second phase tests energy consumption and runs log analysis. Orange does not publish the test cases. The public reference for how an IoT device should use the network efficiently (back-off, retries, signalling) is GSMA TS.34, IoT Device Connection Efficiency Guidelines; Deutsche Telekom turns it into explicit requirements, Orange does not cite it. Designing to TS.34 is a reasonable way to prepare the consumption and log review.

  1. Prerequisites you control. CE marking under RED for Europe, or the local regulatory approval in the target country; the documents Orange checks in phase 1 (CE certificate, technical specifications, user guides).
  2. Contact. Through the IoT Journey contact form or device.validation@orange.com; agree the target label, networks and countries.
  3. First phase. Documentary check, basic functional tests, network connection test.
  4. Second phase (Connected or Approved). Lab and field tests: interoperability, roaming, energy consumption, log analysis, with a delivery manager.
  5. Label and certificate. Label, Orange connectivity certificate, catalogue listing on request.
  6. Lifecycle. Connected and Approved apply to one hardware and firmware version; plan a new validation for a new version.

Orange does not publish durations or fees. For the overall budget and schedule, see certification costs and certification timeline.

Orange validation is an operator programme. Placing on the market in France falls under RED; ARCEP assigns spectrum to the operator. In Orange countries in Africa and the Middle East the regulator is national (for example ANRT in Morocco, ARTCI in Cote d'Ivoire, ART in Cameroon, ARTP in Senegal, NTRA in Egypt, TRC in Jordan), and an Orange label tested on networks in Europe does not replace the national type approval.

Common claim (including on the earlier version of this page)What the documents say
"GCF is the prerequisite for Orange validation"The Orange validation pages do not mention GCF; phase 1 checks the CE certificate, specifications and user guides.
"Deutsche Telekom works from a T-Mobile IoT validated module list and supports SGP.02"DT certifies chipsets and modules itself, does not require GCF from module suppliers, keeps T-Mobile US certification separate, and documents SGP.22 and SGP.32, not SGP.02.
"Vodafone and DT validation are just onboarding steps for GDSP or T-IoT"Vodafone runs a Connectivity Certification at its Innovation Park with device-level GCF as a prerequisite; T-IoT is a commercial offer, not a certification.
"Orange confirmed in 2023 that its LoRaWAN network runs until December 31, 2027"The December 31, 2027 commitment dates from April 2022; in September 2023 Orange Business said it would keep the network beyond 2027.
"Orange LTE-M covers more than 99% of the population since its 2018 launch"At launch (November 8, 2018) Orange stated more than 98%; the 99% figure is the current Orange Business statement for metropolitan France.
"An Orange Assessed module has been tested by Orange"Assessed means checked, not lab tested; some Assessed modules are listed because they are deployed in large numbers on Orange networks.
"Orange labels cover Orange Africa"Orange says its labels guarantee testing on Orange networks in Europe.
"The eIM is the eSIM IoT Manager"SGP.32 v1.2 names it the eSIM IoT remote Manager.
"2G stays available in France through 2026"Orange shuts 2G down in mainland France in waves ending October 20, 2026 (white zones between December 1 and December 15, 2026).

The IoT Journey catalogue mixes labels. An Orange Assessed entry has no hardware or firmware version and no lab test. If your design relies on Orange having tested a module, look for Orange Connected and the exact version.

Designing an NB-IoT-only device for France

Section titled “Designing an NB-IoT-only device for France”

Orange publishes LTE-M and LoRaWAN coverage for France, not NB-IoT. An NB-IoT-only product needs LTE-M (or LoRaWAN) for Orange France, or an operator that runs NB-IoT there.

Keeping a 2G fallback in the firmware plan

Section titled “Keeping a 2G fallback in the firmware plan”

With Orange 2G off in mainland France from October 20, 2026, an LTE-M device that relies on 2G when LTE-M is unavailable (for example on a roaming partner network) has nothing to fall back to. Test the behaviour without 2G.

Connected and Approved are tied to one hardware and firmware version. A cellular stack update after the label is outside it until Orange tests it again.

Assuming one Orange label covers every Orange country

Section titled “Assuming one Orange label covers every Orange country”

The labels refer to testing on Orange networks in Europe. Agree African or Middle East coverage with Orange country by country, and get the national regulatory approval separately.

See also PTCRB for the North American dimension, Verizon Open Development for a US operator programme, LoRa Alliance for the LoRaWAN side and the spilma glossary for definitions of GCF, eUICC, IPAd, SM-DP+ and NR, NSA, OTA.

Sources & references

  1. Orange Connected Validation, IoT Journey, Orange iotjourney.orange.com/en/catalogue/orange-connected-validation
  2. Validation of devices, Orange labels, IoT Journey FAQ, Orange iotjourney.orange.com/en/support/faq/validation-of-devices-:-orange-labels
  3. IoT Journey catalogue, LTE-Cat M technology, Orange iotjourney.orange.com/en/catalogue/technology/lte-cat-m
  4. Device management with LwM2M live! (October 18, 2022), Orange Business, Live Objects blog blog.liveobjects.orange-business.com/device-management-with-lwm2m/
  5. Orange LoRa network coverage (95% of the population), Orange Business www.orange-business.com/fr/reseau-iot
  6. LTE-M network for connected objects (99% of metropolitan population), Orange Business www.orange-business.com/fr/reseau-LTE-M
  7. Orange launches LTE-M network in France (November 8, 2018), Orange newsroom.orange.com/orange-launches-lte-m-network-in-france-and-confirms-further-lte-m-network-launches-in-two-other-european-markets/
  8. Orange Belgium new IoT network reaches 100% coverage (December 7, 2017), Orange Belgium corporate.orange.be/en/news-medias/orange-belgium-new-iot-network-reaches-100-coverage-support-massive-internet-things
  9. End of 2G and 3G, Orange networks (2026 calendar), Orange reseaux.orange.fr/nos-reseaux/modernisation-des-reseaux/arret-2g-3g
  10. Shutdown of 2G and 3G technologies in France, Orange Wholesale wholesale.orange.com/france/en/news/shutdown-of-2g-and-3g-technologies/
  11. Interview Gregoire de Changy, Orange LoRaWAN at least until December 2027 (April 5, 2022, secondary), Journal du Net www.journaldunet.com/iot/1510453-gregoire-de-changy-obs/
  12. Orange affirms LoRaWAN beyond 2027 at SIDO (September 20, 2023, secondary), La Revue du Digital www.larevuedudigital.com/orange-affirme-son-soutien-aux-reseaux-lorawan-pour-raccorder-les-objets-connectes/
  13. Netmore Group to operate and expand acquired LoRaWAN network in France (November 15, 2023), Netmore Group netmoregroup.com/news/netmore-group-to-operate-and-expand-acquired-lorawan-network-in-france/
  14. GCF Board of Directors (2026), GCF www.globalcertificationforum.org/about/board-of-directors.html
  15. PTCRB Certification Program, PTCRB www.ptcrb.com/
  16. GSMA SGP.32 eSIM IoT Technical Specification, version 1.2 (June 27, 2024), GSMA www.gsma.com/solutions-and-impact/technologies/esim/wp-content/uploads/2024/06/SGP.32-v1.2.pdf
  17. TS.34 IoT Device Connection Efficiency Guidelines, GSMA www.gsma.com/get-involved/working-groups/gsma_resources/ts-34/
  18. LoRa Alliance, certification programme, LoRa Alliance lora-alliance.org/lorawan-certification/

Frequently asked questions

Does Orange Connected Validation require GCF or PTCRB certification?
The Orange validation pages do not name GCF or PTCRB as a prerequisite. The first phase is a documentary check (CE certificate, technical specifications, user guides) plus basic functional and network connection tests. Orange sits on the GCF board (an Orange director is listed among the 2026 operator directors), but its published IoT Journey pages do not make GCF an entry ticket. Vodafone, by contrast, requires complete device-level GCF certification, and Deutsche Telekom does not require GCF from module suppliers. PTCRB is the North American scheme and is not mentioned by Orange.
What is the difference between Orange Connected Validation and Live Objects?
Orange Connected Validation is the device validation programme that awards the Orange Assessed, Orange Connected and Orange Approved labels and lists products in the IoT Journey catalogue. Live Objects is the Orange Business IoT platform for device and data management (MQTT, LoRaWAN, SMS and LwM2M devices). Only the Orange Approved label lists integration with Live Objects among its tests, so a labelled device is not necessarily connected to Live Objects.
Does Orange operate its own LoRaWAN network in France?
Yes. Orange Business states that its LoRa network covers 95% of the French population and more than 30,000 municipalities. In April 2022 Orange committed to operate it in France and Reunion at least until December 31, 2027, and in September 2023, at the SIDO show in Lyon, Orange Business said it would keep the network beyond 2027. Bouygues Telecom sold its Objenious LoRaWAN assets to Netmore Group, which announced the takeover on November 15, 2023.
Does validation on Orange France automatically cover Orange affiliates in Africa?
No. Orange states that its labels guarantee that products have been tested on Orange networks in Europe. Orange affiliates in Africa and the Middle East run separate national networks under their own regulators (ANRT in Morocco, ARTCI in Cote d'Ivoire, ART in Cameroon, ARTP in Senegal, NTRA in Egypt, TRC in Jordan). Coverage of an African affiliate has to be agreed with Orange for that country.
Which cellular modules does Orange accept?
Orange does not publish a closed approved module list. Its IoT Journey catalogue lists modules and devices by technology (5G, 4G-LTE, LTE-Cat M, NB-IoT, LoRaWAN), most of them labelled Orange Assessed, Orange Connected or Orange Approved. Orange notes that some modules deployed in large numbers on its networks, but not lab tested, appear in the catalogue as Orange Assessed. Check the label and, for Connected or Approved, the hardware and firmware version tested.
Must an IoT device eUICC comply with SGP.32 for the Orange network?
The Orange validation pages do not state an eUICC or remote SIM provisioning scope, so confirm it with Orange Business for your contract. For reference, SGP.32 version 1.2 (June 27, 2024) is the GSMA eSIM IoT specification, with an eSIM IoT remote Manager (eIM) and an IoT Profile Assistant in the device (IPAd) or in the eUICC (IPAe). Vodafone certification scopes SGP.02 and SGP.32; Deutsche Telekom states support for SGP.22 and SGP.32 and documents nothing on SGP.02.
Is NB-IoT available on the Orange network in France?
Orange Business publishes LTE-M and LoRaWAN coverage for France, not NB-IoT. In April 2022 Orange Business said it had not, for now, found it relevant to position on NB-IoT in France. LTE-M was launched commercially in France on November 8, 2018 and Orange Business now states coverage of more than 99% of the metropolitan population, on 800 MHz. In the group, Orange Belgium announced nationwide NB-IoT and LTE-M on December 7, 2017.
What happens if a device is commercialised without Orange validation?
Orange does not publish a rule that blocks unlabelled devices. Without validation, the device has no Orange label or connectivity certificate and is not listed in the IoT Journey catalogue, and connectivity or energy issues that Orange tests for (interoperability, roaming, consumption) stay untested on Orange networks. Whether a label is required for a given deployment is a contractual question for Orange Business.