- All guides
- Thailand NBTC: SDoC, Class A and Class B approval
Thailand NBTC: SDoC, Class A and Class B approval
Placing a radio product on the Thai market runs through NBTC, the National Broadcasting and Telecommunications Commission, and its Office. The scheme has three routes, not four classes: a Supplier's Declaration of Conformity (SDoC) for low interference risk equipment such as Wi-Fi and Bluetooth, Class A registration, and Class B certification for the highest risk equipment such as cellular terminals. Each NBTC technical standard (NBTC TS) states which route applies. This page reads the route from the texts, gives the Wi-Fi limits NBTC publishes (including the 6 GHz band opened in April 2023), the NBTC ID label format, the fees the Office of the NBTC published in November 2025, and the claims those texts contradict.
Legal basis and dated texts
Section titled “Legal basis and dated texts”NBTC was established by the Act on Organisation to Assign Radio Frequency and to Regulate the Broadcasting and Telecommunications Services B.E. 2553 (2010). Its equipment notifications also rely on the Telecommunications Business Act B.E. 2544 (2001) and the Radiocommunication Act B.E. 2498 (1955), which NBTC TS 1039-2566 cites as its legal basis. Thai texts are dated in the Buddhist era: B.E. 2566 is 2023, so "NBTC TS 1039-2566" means standard 1039 issued in 2023.
| Date | Text | What it does |
|---|---|---|
| 16 August 2016 | NBTC Notification on inspection and certification of telecommunication equipment, Royal Gazette vol. 133, special issue 178 Ng | Sets the three routes: SDoC, Class A (registration), Class B (certification) |
| 20 December 2017 | NBTC Notification on the issue of conformity marks (date given in Office of the NBTC training material) | NBTC ID mark format, self-issued labels and e-labels |
| 21 April 2023 (signed), 28 April 2023 (Royal Gazette) | NBTC TS 1039-2566, 5.925 to 6.425 GHz | Opens 6 GHz RLAN, SDoC route, in force from the day after publication |
| 4 September 2025 | Office of the NBTC announcement 6/2568 in the Royal Gazette | Example of the published list of certified equipment (approvals of 1 to 30 April 2025, numbers such as B38247-25 for cellular devices) |
| 11 November 2025 | Office of the NBTC presentation to IEEE 802.18 | Current route per technology, fees, standards under revision |
Three routes: SDoC, Class A, Class B
Section titled “Three routes: SDoC, Class A, Class B”The 2016 notification defines Class A equipment as equipment tested against the NBTC technical standard and then registered with the Office of the NBTC, and Class B equipment as equipment tested and then certified by the Office of the NBTC. Under SDoC the equipment is neither registered nor certified: the supplier attests conformity on the NBTC SDoC form. The Office of the NBTC ranks the routes by interference risk, from SDoC (low) to Class B (high).
| Route | Interference risk (NBTC) | What the Office of the NBTC does | Number issued | Examples given by NBTC |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| SDoC | Low, or interference accepted | Inspects the file and issues an SDoC certificate used for import | None in the NBTC ID format | WLAN, Bluetooth, NFC, most SRD, optical transceivers, wireline EMC |
| Class A | Interference possible at an acceptable level | Registers the model | Registration number AYYYYY-ZZ | UWB, wireless microphones, vehicle and drone radar, RFID and 920 to 925 MHz IoT above the SDoC limits, 57 to 66 GHz fixed links |
| Class B | Interference likely without control | Certifies the model | Certification number BCCCCC-XX | Cellular terminals and base stations (2G to 5G), land mobile, maritime and aeronautical radio, amateur radio, CB, GMPCS |
The class follows the equipment type, not a case-by-case review: the NBTC TS for each technology states "SDoC", "Class A", "Class B" or "SDoC / Class A" (the latter split by power or band). The Office of the NBTC publishes lists of certified models in the Royal Gazette (announcement 6/2568, for example, covers 1 to 30 April 2025).
Who can file
Section titled “Who can file”The applicant must be a Thai national or a juristic person registered under Thai law. A foreign manufacturer applies through a Thai representative, person or company. The Office of the NBTC repeats this for the SDoC route: "The applicant must be a Thai juristic person, Thai person, and Thai Representative only."
Test reports
Section titled “Test reports”Depending on the device, NBTC expects three reports: radio (output power, spurious emissions, receiver performance), RF exposure (EMF or SAR, aligned with ICNIRP guidelines) and electrical safety (device, AC adapter and battery). For Class B the test laboratory must be ISO/IEC 17025 accredited for the scope. For Class A and SDoC, NBTC also accepts laboratories under a certified quality management system (ISO 9001) or with demonstrated competence.
Fees and lead time (Office of the NBTC, November 2025)
Section titled “Fees and lead time (Office of the NBTC, November 2025)”| Route | Fee per model | Validity | Processing time stated |
|---|---|---|---|
| Class B | THB 5,000 plus 7% VAT | No expiry date | Not stated |
| Class A | THB 1,000 plus 7% VAT | No expiry date | Not stated |
| SDoC | THB 450 plus 7% VAT | No expiry date | 3 days |
Exemptions
Section titled “Exemptions”NBTC training material lists equipment exempt from inspection and certification, including equipment used for teaching and in educational laboratories, equipment used by United Nations specialised agencies, equipment installed on foreign ships or aircraft, and equipment imported temporarily as personal effects with no commercial purpose and taken out of the country afterwards.
Per-technology route table
Section titled “Per-technology route table”From the list of technical standards the Office of the NBTC presented on 11 November 2025.
| Equipment | NBTC technical standard | Route |
|---|---|---|
| LTE terminal | NBTC TS 1027-2560 | Class B |
| 5G NR terminal | NBTC TS 1036-2563 | Class B |
| 5G NR base station | NBTC TS 1037-2563 | Class B |
| WCDMA terminal | NBTC TS 1015-2560 | Class B |
| GSM terminal | NBTC TS 1004-2560 | Class B |
| WLAN 2.4 and 5 GHz | NBTC TS 1035-2562 | SDoC |
| WLAN 6 GHz | NBTC TS 1039-2566 | SDoC |
| RFID | NBTC TS 1010-2560 | SDoC / Class A |
| IoT 920 to 925 MHz (LoRa) | NBTC TS 1033-2560 | SDoC / Class A |
| Vehicle radar | NBTC TS 1011-2560 | SDoC / Class A |
| Drone radar | NBTC TS 1038-2564 | SDoC / Class A |
| Ultra-wideband | NBTC TS 1034-2561 | Class A |
| Wireless microphone | NBTC TS 1006-2560 | Class A |
| Fixed service 57 to 66 GHz | NBTC TS 1031-2565 | Class A |
| Optical system | NTC TS 2001-2550 | SDoC |
| Wireline equipment (EMC) | NBTC TS 3001-2561 | SDoC |
For cellular products, the cellular radio drives the route: a product with an LTE or 5G NR module is Class B even if its Wi-Fi and Bluetooth parts alone would be SDoC. Network topics such as 3GPP band support or VoLTE provisioning are matters for the operators and are not part of the NBTC equipment route.
In the same presentation NBTC listed standards under revision or in preparation: DECT in 1880 to 1900 MHz (Class A), transport radar in 24.05 to 24.25 GHz, 76 to 77 GHz and 77 to 81 GHz (Class A), drone radar in 57 to 64 GHz and 76 to 77 GHz (Class A), non-specific radar in 24.05 to 24.25 GHz (SDoC / Class A) and SRD in 57 to 64 GHz (SDoC). Check whether these have been published in the Royal Gazette before relying on them.
Wi-Fi and SRD limits
Section titled “Wi-Fi and SRD limits”The Office of the NBTC published the following Wi-Fi limits and accepted RF test references. All EIRP values are maximum e.i.r.p.
| Band | Frequency range | Max e.i.r.p. | NBTC standard | RF test reference named by NBTC | Route |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| WLAN 2.4 GHz | 2400 to 2500 MHz | 100 mW | NBTC TS 1035-2562 | EN 300 328 V2.1.1 or later, or FCC 15.247 | SDoC |
| WLAN 5.2 GHz | 5150 to 5350 MHz | 200 mW | NBTC TS 1035-2562 | EN 301 893 V2.1.1 or later, or FCC 15.407 | SDoC |
| WLAN 5.4 GHz | 5470 to 5725 MHz | 1 W | NBTC TS 1035-2562 | EN 301 893 or FCC 15.407 | SDoC |
| WLAN 5.8 GHz | 5725 to 5850 MHz | 1 W | NBTC TS 1035-2562 | EN 302 502 V2.1.1 or later, or FCC 15.247 / 15.407 | SDoC |
| WLAN 6 GHz, indoor (LPI) | 5925 to 6425 MHz | 250 mW (12.5 mW/MHz) | NBTC TS 1039-2566 | EN 303 687 V1.1.1 or later, or FCC 15.407 | SDoC |
| WLAN 6 GHz, indoor and outdoor (VLP) | 5925 to 6425 MHz | 25 mW (1.25 mW/MHz) | NBTC TS 1039-2566 | EN 303 687 or FCC 15.407 | SDoC |
| WLAN 60 GHz | 57 to 66 GHz | 10 W | NBTC TS 1025-2557 | EN 302 567 or FCC 15.255 | Per the TS |
Three details matter for firmware. First, Thailand opened only the lower 500 MHz of the 6 GHz band (5925 to 6425 MHz), so a regulatory domain that enables U-NII-6 to U-NII-8 channels for Thailand is wrong. Second, NBTC TS 1039-2566 forbids battery power for an access point above 25 mW e.i.r.p. Third, the 6 GHz standard takes its transmitter and receiver characteristics from FCC 15.407, while test reports against the ETSI harmonised standards are accepted as evidence.
For SRD, Thailand uses 920 to 925 MHz for RFID (up to 4 W e.i.r.p.) and for LoRa type IoT, not the European 868 MHz band. RFID also has entries below 135 kHz (150 mW e.i.r.p.), at 13.553 to 13.567 MHz (10 mW e.i.r.p.) and at 433.05 to 434.79 MHz (10 mW). NBTC training material puts RFID and 920 to 925 MHz IoT above 50 mW e.i.r.p. in Class A, below that in SDoC. UWB (NBTC TS 1034-2561) is Class A, with a power spectral density mask from -41.3 dBm/MHz in 1.6 to 2.0 GHz and 4.8 to 10.6 GHz down to -77.0 dBm/MHz in 3.4 to 4.2 GHz and 4.5 to 4.8 GHz.
NBTC ID label and Thai statement
Section titled “NBTC ID label and Thai statement”For Class A and Class B equipment the supplier displays a conformity mark issued by the Office of the NBTC, or self-issued with its permission.
| Item | Class A | Class B |
|---|---|---|
| Number on the certificate | AYYYYY-ZZ (registration number) | BCCCCC-XX (certification number) |
| Mark text | NBTC ID. YYYYYY-ZZ-XXXX | NBTC ID. CCCCCC-BB-XXXX |
| Meaning | 6-digit registration number, last 2 digits of the year (AD) of registration, 4-digit supplier code | 6-digit certification number, last 2 digits of the year (AD) of certification, 4-digit supplier code |
The NBTC ID plays the role the FCC ID plays in the United States: it ties the marked unit to a published approval. Placement rules in NBTC training material: on the equipment, easy to read and see and hard to erase; on the packaging or the user manual when the equipment is too small. A Thai juristic person can be authorised to self-issue the mark, printed or as an e-label on the device screen, provided the user manual explains how to reach it and users cannot alter it. Class A and Class B equipment also need the Thai statement that the equipment conforms to NBTC technical standards or requirements, in the manual, packaging, insert or e-label.
The NBTC requirement is this mark and statement. Other Thai-language labelling duties (consumer protection, TISI) come from other laws and are outside this page. For the general pros and cons of an electronic marking, see e-label vs physical label.
Electrical safety and TISI
Section titled “Electrical safety and TISI”Each NBTC TS carries its own safety clause. NBTC TS 1039-2566 accepts any one of IEC 60950-1, TIS 1561-2556, IEC 62368-1 or TIS 62368 part 1-2563, and lets a radio module built into another product show conformity for the module alone or use the safety standard of the host product. Separately, the Thai Industrial Standards Institute (TISI) administers mandatory Thai Industrial Standards, which need their own licence when a product or its power supply falls in scope. NBTC does not issue that licence; check the scope with TISI.
Claims the texts contradict
Section titled “Claims the texts contradict”| Common claim (including earlier versions of this page) | What the texts say |
|---|---|
| NBTC sorts radio equipment into Classes A, B, C and D | Three routes only: SDoC, Class A, Class B (2016 notification; NBTC, November 2025). There is no Class C or D. |
| Class A is the low-risk, declarative route (SDoC) | SDoC is its own route. Class A is registration after testing; it sits between SDoC and Class B. |
| Wi-Fi modules are typically Class B | WLAN at 2.4, 5 and 6 GHz is SDoC under NBTC TS 1035-2562 and 1039-2566. |
| A designated certification body reviews the file and recommends approval to NBTC | Registration (Class A) and certification (Class B) are granted by the Office of the NBTC, which publishes the certified models in the Royal Gazette; laboratories supply the test reports. |
| The class is decided during review, a product can move from B to C | The route is fixed per equipment type in the NBTC TS, split by power or band for some types. |
| The 6 GHz band status in Thailand is undecided | Opened on 28 April 2023 (Royal Gazette), 5925 to 6425 MHz only, LPI 250 mW and VLP 25 mW. |
| The NBTC number must be on the physical product, without exception | The mark may go on the packaging or manual for small equipment, and an e-label is allowed under conditions. |
| 868 MHz has no counterpart, check the table | The counterpart is 920 to 925 MHz (RFID and IoT standards NBTC TS 1010-2560 and 1033-2560). |
Step-by-step for a connected product
Section titled “Step-by-step for a connected product”- Freeze the hardware and radio firmware, list every intentional radio and its band.
- Find the NBTC TS for each radio in the table above and on the NBTC standards portal; the most demanding route (Class B over Class A over SDoC) drives the file.
- Appoint the Thai applicant: a Thai subsidiary, importer or representative.
- Collect test reports: RF against the NBTC TS (EN or FCC reports are named as references for Wi-Fi), RF exposure, electrical safety covering device, adapter and battery, from a lab that meets the route requirement (ISO/IEC 17025 for Class B).
- Set the Thai regulatory domain: 6 GHz limited to 5925 to 6425 MHz, power limits per the Wi-Fi table, 920 to 925 MHz for sub-GHz.
- File through the Thai applicant and pay the fee per model.
- Label: NBTC ID mark and Thai conformity statement for Class A and Class B.
- Check TISI scope for the product and its power supply.
- Re-assess on change: a new radio, band or power level can change the applicable NBTC TS or route.
For timelines across markets, see certification timeline.
Going further
Section titled “Going further”- RED: EU radio regime; its harmonised standards (EN 300 328, EN 301 893, EN 303 687) are the RF references NBTC names for Wi-Fi
- FCC: US regime; FCC 15.247 and 15.407 reports are accepted references, and the Thai 6 GHz standard copies FCC 15.407 characteristics
- PTCRB: cellular industry certification, separate from NBTC Class B
- Certification timeline: cross-cutting orders of magnitude per phase
- Glossary: definitions of SDoC, EIRP and related terms
See also
Section titled “See also”- IMDA Singapore: radio and telecom certification
- Malaysia SIRIM and MCMC: product and radio certification
- Vietnam MIC: radio, telecom and ICT certification
- India: BIS (CRS), TEC (MTCTE) and WPC (ETA) certifications
- Philippines NTC: type acceptance for radio and telecom
- E-label vs physical label
Sources & references
- NBTC Notification on inspection and certification of telecommunication equipment, Royal Gazette vol. 133, special issue 178 Ng, 16 August 2016 (Thai), Royal Gazette (Thailand) www.ratchakitcha.soc.go.th/DATA/PDF/2559/E/178/37.PDF
- NBTC TS 1039-2566, radiocommunication equipment in 5.925 to 6.425 GHz, Royal Gazette vol. 140, special issue 100 Ng, 28 April 2023 (Thai text, copy hosted by JQA), NBTC (copy hosted by JQA) www.jqa.jp/service_list/safety/topics/file/1039-2566.pdf
- Overview of NBTC Standards and Conformity Assessment, Telecommunication Standard Bureau, Office of the NBTC, 11 November 2025 (IEEE 802.18-25/0113r0), Office of the NBTC (via IEEE 802.18) mentor.ieee.org/802.18/dcn/25/18-25-0113-00-0000-overview-of-nbtc-standards-and-conformity-assessment.pdf
- Office of the NBTC announcement 6/2568, telecommunication equipment certified 1 to 30 April 2025, Royal Gazette vol. 142, issue 110 Ng, 4 September 2025 (Thai), Royal Gazette (Thailand) ratchakitcha.soc.go.th/documents/74775.pdf
- Office of the NBTC training slides on classification, numbering and marking of telecommunication equipment, 2018 (Thai, copy hosted by EMONE), Office of the NBTC (copy hosted by EMONE) www.emone.co.th/wp-content/uploads/2018/10/3.%E0%B8%81%E0%B8%B2%E0%B8%A3%E0%B8%88%E0%B8%B3%E0%B9%81%E0%B8%99%E0%B8%81%E0%B8%9B%E0%B8%A3%E0%B8%B0%E0%B9%80%E0%B8%A0%E0%B8%97%E0%B8%81%E0%B8%B2%E0%B8%A3%E0%B8%A3%E0%B8%B1%E0%B8%9A%E0%B8%A3%E0%B8%AD%E0%B8%87%E0%B9%80%E0%B8%84%E0%B8%A3%E0%B8%B7%E0%B9%88%E0%B8%AD%E0%B8%87-%E0%B8%84%E0%B8%97..pdf
- NBTC Telecommunication Standard Bureau, technical standards portal, NBTC standard.nbtc.go.th/
- Thai Industrial Standards Institute (TISI), TISI www.tisi.go.th/
Frequently asked questions
- What does NBTC regulate for radio products?
- NBTC (National Broadcasting and Telecommunications Commission) was set up by the Act on Organisation to Assign Radio Frequency and to Regulate the Broadcasting and Telecommunications Services B.E. 2553 (2010). For equipment, its Office lists five missions: frequency allocation, licensing (use, possession, import, trade of equipment), technical standards, inspection and certification, and post-market surveillance. Each equipment type has an NBTC technical standard (NBTC TS) that also states which conformity route applies.
- Are there Classes A, B, C and D?
- No. The NBTC notification on inspection and certification of telecommunication equipment (Royal Gazette, 16 August 2016) has three routes: Supplier's Declaration of Conformity (SDoC) for low interference risk (Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, most SRD), Class A (registration with the Office of the NBTC, for example UWB, wireless microphones, higher-power RFID) and Class B (certification by the Office of the NBTC, for cellular, land mobile, maritime and aeronautical radio). Class B is the strictest route, not Class A.
- What does the NBTC label look like?
- Class A and Class B equipment carry a mark with "NBTC ID." followed by the registration or certification number, the last two digits of the year and a 4-digit supplier code, plus the Thai statement that the equipment conforms to NBTC technical standards or requirements. NBTC training material allows the mark on the packaging or manual when the device is too small, and an e-label on the device screen under conditions.
- Who can file with NBTC?
- A Thai national or a juristic person registered under Thai law. A foreign manufacturer files through a Thai representative (person or company). NBTC states this for SDoC as well as for Class A and Class B, so a foreign brand cannot file directly.
- Has Thailand opened 6 GHz Wi-Fi?
- Yes, but only 5925 to 6425 MHz. NBTC TS 1039-2566 was signed on 21 April 2023 and published in the Royal Gazette on 28 April 2023. It allows 250 mW e.i.r.p. (12.5 mW/MHz) indoors and 25 mW e.i.r.p. (1.25 mW/MHz) indoors and outdoors, with transmitter and receiver characteristics per FCC 15.407. Access points above 25 mW must not be battery powered. Conformity is by SDoC.
- How much does NBTC charge and how long does it take?
- In its November 2025 presentation the Office of the NBTC gave fees per model of THB 5,000 for Class B, THB 1,000 for Class A and THB 450 for SDoC, each plus 7% VAT, with no expiry date on the certificate. It gave a processing time of 3 days for SDoC and no figure for Class A or Class B.
- Which test reports does NBTC accept?
- Depending on the device: an RF report, an RF exposure (EMF or SAR) report aligned with ICNIRP, and an electrical safety report covering the device, the AC adapter and the battery. For Class B the lab must be ISO/IEC 17025 accredited; for Class A and SDoC NBTC also accepts labs with a certified quality management system. For Wi-Fi, NBTC names EN 300 328, EN 301 893, EN 302 502, EN 303 687 or FCC Part 15 as RF test references.
- Is there a separate electrical safety scheme?
- NBTC technical standards include an electrical safety clause of their own: NBTC TS 1039-2566, for example, accepts IEC 60950-1, TIS 1561-2556, IEC 62368-1 or TIS 62368 part 1-2563. Mandatory Thai Industrial Standards are administered separately by TISI, so check whether a TISI licence also applies to the product or its power supply.