Skip to content
spilma

Vodafone IoT connectivity certification and eSIM

Vodafone does not publish a "Global IoT acceptance" rulebook. What it does publish is the Vodafone Connectivity Certification for IoT, run by the IoT Innovation and Certification team at the Vodafone Innovation Park in Düsseldorf: a service description, a 2026/2027 test catalogue, a vendor questionnaire and a list of certified devices and modules. This page is built from those documents. They make three things clear: a complete GCF certification of the device is a prerequisite, the eUICC scope is SGP.02 and SGP.32, and the certificate is tied to a hardware and firmware version and to a list of European countries. Where Vodafone documents are silent (PSM, eDRX, NIDD), this page says so and points to the GSMA guidelines instead of guessing.

The certification service description (July 2026) says the Vodafone Innovation Park "provides customers a connectivity certification of their IoT products within the Vodafone network", that the certification covers "the technical validity of flawless connectivity of the customer's product that was available at the time of testing", and that it "secures a comprehensive product testing against Vodafone standardized test cases". The Innovation Park page adds that the test environment is an isolated mobile network that replicates the live network, so devices are tested without being integrated into the live network.

ItemWhat the Vodafone documents say
NameVodafone Connectivity Certification for IoT (2026); the 2025 edition called the seal "Vodafone IoT Certified Connectivity"
Who runs itIoT Innovation and Certification, Vodafone Innovation Park (IoT Future Lab), Düsseldorf
Who it is forChipsets, cellular modules and IoT devices
Test basisVodafone standardised test cases, in an isolated network replicating the live network
DeliverablesCertification document (signed by the Vodafone Technology Business Director in the 2026 edition), test report, Vodafone badges used to label the certified devices or modules
Quality systemISO 9001 certification of the service
ValidityThe configuration tested, at the time of testing, in the listed countries where each technology is available
Public listingOptional: the questionnaire asks whether the product shall be listed on the Vodafone reference page

The certificate is therefore not a network-wide licence for a product family. The reference list records each entry with supplier, device, module, hardware and firmware version and certification date, and some entries carry restrictions such as "Only NB-IoT part certified". A new firmware is a new configuration.

Prerequisites: GCF, IMEI range, documents, samples

Section titled “Prerequisites: GCF, IMEI range, documents, samples”

The vendor questionnaire is the most concrete document Vodafone publishes. Its "Required documents for certification" section asks for:

RequirementExact scope in the questionnaire
GCFComplete GCF certification of the M2M device: GCF lab test, GCF field trial and device registration with GCF. This also applies to cellular modules under certification. GCF certification of just the radio module is not sufficient.
IMEIStatement of the reserved IMEI range for the product and of the TAC code registered to the supplier
Documents and tools, in advanceFirmware release note, firmware update flash instructions, sample pictures with user manual, PICS/PIXIT list, AT command specifications, modem driver, preferred DMC log files and manuals, product data sheet
SamplesThree test samples per model, two of them with an external SIM slot
Test setup dataSIM format (2FF, 3FF, 4FF or embedded), antenna connection (RF cable possible or not), APN 1 and APN 2 with expected throughput, operating system, interface (USB, LAN, serial), power supply, trace software

Two consequences for planning. First, an integrator cannot rely on the GCF certificate of the module inside: the device itself needs its own GCF certification, including field trials, before Vodafone tests it. Second, the IMEI and TAC statement means the production identity of the device must be settled before certification, not after. For the GCF scheme itself, see GCF: Global Certification Forum cellular device scheme.

The Vodafone documents do not mention PTCRB. PTCRB remains relevant when the same product targets North American carriers that require it; see PTCRB vs GCF.

The questionnaire lists the bands Vodafone wants to know the device supports. It is a useful checklist for a European band plan, even if it is not a statement that every band is deployed in every country.

TechnologyBands listed in the vendor questionnaire
GPRS/EDGE (2G)Band 8 (900 MHz), Band 3 (1800 MHz)
UMTS/HSPA+ (3G)Band 8 (900 MHz), Band 1 (2100 MHz)
LTE (4G)Bands 1 (2100), 3 (1800), 7 (2600), 8 (900), 20 (800), 28 (700), 32 (1400) and 38 TDD (2600 MHz)
NR (5G)SA, NSA and DSS capability; n28 (700 MHz), n3 (1800 MHz), n78 (3500 MHz); LTE anchors on Bands 1, 3, 7 and 20
RedCapn1 (2100 MHz)
NB-IoTBand 8 (900), Band 3 (1800), Band 20 (800), Band 28 (700 MHz)
LTE Cat MBand 20 (800 MHz), Band 8 (900 MHz)

The same form asks for voice and SMS support (voice, VoLTE, VoWiFi, SMS, eCall, NG eCall), IPv6 and IPv4v6 dual stack, support of proactive SIM commands, remote SIM provisioning (eUICC E2E) and the SGP.32 or SGP.02 variant.

The standard product catalogue 2026/2027 numbers 48 products. Full Tests (1 to 20) and Smart Tests (21 to 40) cover the same 20 technology combinations; the catalogue notes that Smart Tests "have a smaller test scope and are used for verification". Add-ons (41 to 48) cover specific features.

FamilyCombinations or featuresTest items (Full Test)
LPWANB-IoT; NB-IoT / 2G; NB-IoT / LTE Cat M; NB-IoT / LTE Cat M / 2G; LTE Cat M; LTE Cat M / 2GIoT Bearer NB-IoT and IoT Bearer LTE-M, USIM-ME; with 2G: GSM and basic operations, SMS, GPRS-EDGE, PAP/CHAP, speech codecs and ciphering
Legacy and 4G2G; 3G; 4G; 2G / 3G; 2G / 3G / 4G; "1 Legacy" (2G or 3G) / 4GGSM and basic operations, 3G datacard, LTE data, LTE voice via CSFB, SMS, USIM-ME, PAP/CHAP, speech codecs and ciphering
5G and VoLTECombinations with 5G and with VoLTE, down to 4G / 5G / VoLTE5G bearer NSA and DSS, LTE voice over LTE, EVS speech codec, plus the 4G items
Add-ons41 5G SA; 42 VoLTE Roaming (GDSP); 43 eCall; 44 Next Generation eCall; 45 LTE Advanced (from Cat 9); 46 eUICC NW Conformance; 47 eUICC E2E; 48 5G RedCap5G SA bearer; VoLTE customised to IoT with EVS; IoT eCall with consulting and development support; eUICC SIM Toolkit; eUICC SIM profile handling; Release 17 RedCap

The certification service description of July 2026 phrases the eUICC scope as "Conformance + E2E SGP.02 and SGP.32", and marks 5G RedCap and NB-IoT over NTN as "under preparation, verification only".

What the catalogue does not list as separate items: PSM, eDRX, NIDD, APN switching, SM-DP+ TLS checks or roaming between Vodafone countries. Earlier versions of this page presented these as the core of Vodafone acceptance; the published catalogue does not say so. If your product depends on them, ask the lab in writing what the IoT bearer tests include.

StepContent (Vodafone service description)Duration given
Questionnaire, quotation, purchase orderVendor questionnaire, Vodafone quotation, customer purchase orderPhases 1 to 4: approx. one week
5.1 First test runTest execution of IoT capabilities: 2G/3G/4G/5G, LTE-M, NB-IoT, VoLTE, eCall/NG-eCall, eUICC, automotivePhases 5.1 to 5.2: approx. two weeks
Bug fixingDefect report, software update by the vendor, expert supportNot stated
5.2 Regression testFinal software delivered, no critical issues pending(included above)
6 GraduationTest report, official certificate, badgesNot stated

Vodafone reports its own totals: as of September 2024, 51 IoT modules certified (NB-IoT and LTE-M), more than 124 2G/3G/4G modules or devices and more than 19 5G modules or devices; as of May 2026, 150+ 2G/3G/4G/5G devices or modules and 53+ IoT modules (NB-IoT and LTE-M).

The 2026 service description lists the markets covered: Germany, United Kingdom, Spain, Italy, Netherlands, Ireland, Portugal, Albania, Czech Republic, Greece and Romania. A matrix shows, per country, which of NR (5G NSA), NR (5G SA), LTE, UMTS, GSM, eMTC (LTE-M) and NB-IoT are available, with the legend "technology available and certificate valid in the country", and the footnote that Spain and Italy are no longer local markets.

Vodafone IoT sells connectivity far beyond that list (its SGP.32 article of August 5, 2025 cites 180+ countries and 760+ network partners), but the Innovation Park certificate itself speaks for the listed countries only. In partner-network countries, the partner rules apply.

DateEventSource
May 7, 2020Vodafone Germany announces 3G switch-off; 2G remains for calls, SMS and eCallVodafone Germany newsroom
June 30, 2021Vodafone Germany switches off 3GVodafone Germany newsroom
March 2023IoT Future Lab certification brochure: 2G/3G/4G/5G (SA and NSA), NB-IoT, LTE-M; eCall and NG-eCall, eUICC, VoLTE and VoLTE roaming, automotive set-up, Vodafone Device Management (OMA LwM2M)Vodafone PDF (2023)
May 2023GSMA releases SGP.32 (date as given by Vodafone IoT)Vodafone IoT article
February 27, 2024Vodafone UK announces its 3G switch-off finished that weekVodafone UK press release
June 27, 2024GSMA SGP.32 version 1.2SGP.32 v1.2 cover page
September 2024Certification balance: 51 IoT modules, more than 124 2G/3G/4G, more than 19 5GVodafone PDF (2025 edition)
August 5, 2025Vodafone IoT says it is "an integral part of a core group that has defined the new SGP.32 standards" and presents its SGP.32 offer; the 2025 GSMA certification and launch dates it gave are not confirmed in the later Vodafone documents reviewedVodafone IoT article
February 4, 2026Certified device and module list created or updated (then May 29, 2026; June 24, 2026 marked "no updates")Vodafone XLSX revision history
March 23, 2026VodafoneThree: the Vodafone 2G network will be switched off in spring 2030Vodafone UK
May 2026Certification balance: 150+ devices or modules, 53+ IoT modulesVodafone PDF (2026 edition)
July 2026Service description: eUICC Conformance + E2E SGP.02 and SGP.32; RedCap and NB-IoT over NTN in preparation; first countries phase out 2G for consumers in 2028 and for IoT customers in 2030Vodafone PDF (2026 edition)
2026/2027Standard product catalogue, 48 productsVodafone catalogue

eSIM: SGP.02 and SGP.32 in the Vodafone scope

Section titled “eSIM: SGP.02 and SGP.32 in the Vodafone scope”

Vodafone tests two eUICC aspects: network conformance (eUICC SIM Toolkit, add-on 46) and end-to-end profile handling (add-on 47), for SGP.02 and SGP.32.

  • GSMA SGP.32: the GSMA eSIM IoT Technical Specification. Version 1.2 (June 27, 2024) describes "the remote provisioning and management of the eUICC in IoT Network Constrained and/or User Interface Constrained Devices". Its architecture adds an eSIM IoT remote Manager (eIM) and an IoT Profile Assistant, either in the IoT device (IPAd) or in the eUICC (IPAe), next to the SM-DP+ and SM-DS.
  • SGP.02: the earlier M2M architecture. Vodafone IoT describes it as relying on server-driven provisioning using SMS, which does not suit low-power devices without SMS capability.
  • GSMA SGP.22: the consumer architecture, where the user pulls a profile. Vodafone IoT describes it as suited to individual devices but requiring a manual trigger. It is not named in the Vodafone certification documents.

The practical reading: if a headless product uses an eSIM, declare SGP.32 or SGP.02 in the questionnaire and order the eUICC add-ons. Vodafone IoT presents SGP.32 as "an adaption of the consumer SGP.22 approach with additional features designed for the massive multi-country deployment of IoT devices".

Device behaviour on the network: GSMA TS.34

Section titled “Device behaviour on the network: GSMA TS.34”

Vodafone documents do not publish power-saving or signalling test cases. The industry reference for that behaviour is GSMA TS.34, IoT Device Connection Efficiency Guidelines (version 10.0 of October 2, 2023 is the public PDF read for this page; GSMA has published later versions). Its stated objective is "to specify requirements for efficient use of mobile network connectivity by IoT devices". Requirements a reviewer can check on firmware:

TS.34 referenceRequirement (summary of the text)
TS.34_4.0_REQ_002The IoT device application SHOULD minimise the number of network connections
TS.34_4.0_REQ_003It SHOULD use a randomised timer to trigger network connection requests, for regular activation, regular messaging or after a service interruption
TS.34_4.0_REQ_005Security measures against unauthorised device management (diagnostics, firmware updates), applying to local and remote OTA management
Section 8 (Radio Policy Manager)Non-standardised module features that limit aggressive retries after NAS rejects; default RPM parameters in module firmware when the UICC has none
TS.34_9.11_REQ_001The module SHOULD support Power Saving Mode as defined in 3GPP TS 23.682 Release 12
TS.34_9.11_REQ_002The module SHOULD support Power Saving Mode in 5G as defined in 3GPP TS 22.261

These are guidelines (SHOULD), not Vodafone certification criteria. They are still the best predictor of whether a fleet will behave on any operator network.

Country3G2GSource
GermanySwitched off June 30, 2021Kept for calls, SMS and eCall at the time of the 3G switch-offVodafone Germany newsroom (May 7, 2020)
United KingdomSwitch-off finished in the week of February 27, 2024Vodafone 2G network to be switched off in spring 2030 (VodafoneThree)Vodafone UK
Certification markets in generalListed per country in the certification matrixFirst countries phase out 2G for consumers in 2028 and for IoT customers in 2030Vodafone certification PDF (July 2026)

For a new design, the certification catalogue still offers LPWA combinations with 2G (NB-IoT / 2G, LTE Cat M / 2G); the 2028 and 2030 statements are the reason to treat 2G as a fallback with a known end, not as primary coverage.

The Vodafone certificate is an operator certification. It does not replace the regulatory route of each market: CE marking under the Radio Equipment Directive in the EU and the national approvals elsewhere. See EU and US dual certification for combined planning, and Verizon Open Development for a US operator programme that works on a different basis.

Common claim (including earlier versions of this page)What the documents say
"Vodafone requires PTCRB for North America and GCF for the rest of the world"The vendor questionnaire requires the complete GCF certification of the device (lab test, field trial, registration with GCF), also for modules, and says module-only GCF is not sufficient. PTCRB is not mentioned.
"Acceptance targets the GDSP platform, which hosts the Vodafone SM-DP+; GDSP launched in 2009"The 2026/2027 catalogue names GDSP only in the "VoLTE Roaming (GDSP)" add-on. Nothing in the certification documents describes SM-DP+ TLS tests or a GDSP submission; the launch date is not in any Vodafone document consulted.
"Vodafone aligns acceptance on SGP.22 for products with a UI and on SGP.32 for headless products; SGP.02 is a dead end"The eUICC scope is "Conformance + E2E SGP.02 and SGP.32"; the questionnaire offers SGP.32 and SGP.02 checkboxes. SGP.22 is not named.
"Acceptance centres on PSM, eDRX and NIDD; the network refuses T3324 or T3412 values"The published catalogue does not list PSM, eDRX or NIDD tests. Its items are bearer, SMS, USIM-ME, PAP/CHAP, voice and eUICC tests. PSM support is a GSMA TS.34 recommendation, not a published Vodafone test item.
"The eIM is the eSIM IoT Manager"SGP.32 v1.2 names it the eSIM IoT remote Manager.
"Vodafone acceptance covers the group MNOs, including Turkey, Egypt and South Africa"The certificate lists eleven European markets (Germany, UK, Spain, Italy, Netherlands, Ireland, Portugal, Albania, Czech Republic, Greece, Romania), with Spain and Italy flagged as no longer local markets.
"Pick any recent module from the usual vendors, they all fit"Certification is per product and per hardware and firmware version; the reference list records the version, and some entries are restricted (for example "Only NB-IoT part certified").
"Testing can be done in an acceptance lab of your choice"The tests are performed by Vodafone Innovation Park resources in Düsseldorf, in an isolated network replicating the live network.

Connection with other cellular certifications

Section titled “Connection with other cellular certifications”

For the vocabulary (3GPP, eIM, IPAd, IPAe, SM-DP+, PSM), see the spilma glossary.

Sources & references

  1. Vodafone Innovation Park, Certification (IoT Future Lab), Vodafone www.vodafone.de/innovationpark/en/certification.html
  2. Vodafone Connectivity Certification for IoT, service description (PDF, July 2026), Vodafone www.vodafone.de/business/media/innovation-park-certification-service.pdf
  3. Vodafone Innovation Park, Standard product catalog 2026/2027 (PDF), Vodafone www.vodafone.de/business/media/innovation-park-produktkatalog-2026.pdf
  4. Vodafone Innovation Park, Vendor questionnaire (PDF), Vodafone www.vodafone.de/business/media/innovation-park-fragebogen-vendor.pdf
  5. Vodafone Connectivity Certification, list of certified devices and modules (XLSX), Vodafone www.vodafone.de/business/media/innovation-park-module-liste.xlsx
  6. Connectivity Certification for Chipsets and Modules by Vodafone (PDF, status September 2024), Vodafone www.vodafone.de/business/media/vodafone-iot-innovation-certification-service.pdf
  7. Vodafone IoT, What you need to know about the new eSIM SGP.32 standard (August 5, 2025), Vodafone iot.vodafone.com/news-and-insights/what-you-need-to-know-about-the-new-esim-sgp-32-standard
  8. Vodafone IoT, Managed IoT connectivity platform, Vodafone iot.vodafone.com/solutions/managed-iot-connectivity
  9. GSMA SGP.32 eSIM IoT Technical Specification, version 1.2 (June 27, 2024), GSMA www.gsma.com/solutions-and-impact/technologies/esim/wp-content/uploads/2024/06/SGP.32-v1.2.pdf
  10. GSMA eSIM Consumer and IoT specifications, GSMA www.gsma.com/solutions-and-impact/technologies/esim/esim-specification/
  11. GSMA TS.34 IoT Device Connection Efficiency Guidelines, version 10.0 (October 2, 2023), GSMA www.gsma.com/newsroom/wp-content/uploads//TS.34-v10.0-IoT-Device-Connection-Efficiency-Guidelines.pdf
  12. Global Certification Forum, GCF www.globalcertificationforum.org/
  13. Vodafone Germany, Bye, bye 3G (May 7, 2020), Vodafone unternehmen.vodafone.de/newsroom/bye-bye-3g-vodafone-setzt-kuenftig-noch-mehr-auf-lte-und-5g
  14. Vodafone UK, Vodafone successfully switches off 3G in UK (February 27, 2024), Vodafone www.vodafone.co.uk/newscentre/press-release/3g-successful-switch-off-uk/
  15. Vodafone UK, VodafoneThree 2G switch-off (March 23, 2026), Vodafone www.vodafone.co.uk/newscentre/smart-living/everything-you-need-to-know-about/vodafonethree-2g-switch-off/

Frequently asked questions

Is GCF enough to run a device on the Vodafone network?
GCF is the entry ticket, not the whole of it. The Vodafone vendor questionnaire lists, among the documents required for certification, the complete GCF certification of the M2M device (GCF lab test, GCF field trial and device registration with GCF), and states that this also applies to cellular modules and that GCF certification of the radio module alone is not sufficient. Vodafone then runs its own Connectivity Certification at the Vodafone Innovation Park in Düsseldorf against Vodafone standardised test cases.
Does Vodafone ask for PTCRB?
The Vodafone certification documents (service description, 2026/2027 product catalogue, vendor questionnaire) name GCF and do not mention PTCRB. PTCRB is the North American scheme; you need it when the product also targets carriers that require it, not because of Vodafone.
What does the Vodafone certification actually test?
The 2026/2027 catalogue lists 20 Full Tests and 20 Smart Tests, one per combination of technologies (2G, 3G, 4G, 5G, NB-IoT, LTE Cat M, VoLTE), plus eight add-ons: 5G SA, VoLTE Roaming (GDSP), eCall, Next Generation eCall, LTE Advanced, eUICC network conformance, eUICC end-to-end and 5G RedCap. Full Test items include IoT bearer tests, USIM-ME, SMS, PAP/CHAP and, for voice products, speech codecs and ciphering. Smart Tests have a smaller scope and are used for verification.
Which eSIM specifications does Vodafone test?
The July 2026 certification service document lists eUICC "Conformance + E2E SGP.02 and SGP.32", and the vendor questionnaire has SGP.32 and SGP.02 checkboxes. SGP.22 is not named in these documents. SGP.32 is the GSMA eSIM IoT specification (version 1.2, June 27, 2024), with an eSIM IoT remote Manager (eIM) and an IoT Profile Assistant in the device (IPAd) or in the eUICC (IPAe).
How long does the Vodafone certification take?
Vodafone gives approximate durations: phases 1 to 4 (up to the purchase order, after the questionnaire and quotation) about one week, then the test phase from the first test run to the regression test about two weeks. Bug fixing by the vendor between the two runs is not bounded in the document. Vodafone asks for three samples per model, two of them with an external SIM slot.
In which countries is the Vodafone certificate valid?
The certification document lists Germany, the United Kingdom, Spain, Italy, the Netherlands, Ireland, Portugal, Albania, the Czech Republic, Greece and Romania, with a per-country matrix of technologies, and the note that Spain and Italy are no longer local markets. The certificate is valid in a country for a technology only where that technology is available there.
What happens to 2G and 3G on Vodafone networks?
Vodafone Germany switched off 3G on June 30, 2021, keeping 2G for calls, SMS and eCall. Vodafone UK announced on February 27, 2024 that its 3G switch-off was finished. VodafoneThree says the Vodafone 2G network in the UK will be switched off in spring 2030, and the 2026 Vodafone certification document states that the first countries will phase out 2G for consumers in 2028 and for IoT customers in 2030.
Are PSM and eDRX part of the Vodafone test catalogue?
The published 2026/2027 catalogue does not list PSM, eDRX or NIDD as separate test items; ask the lab what the IoT bearer tests cover. On the design side, GSMA TS.34 (IoT Device Connection Efficiency Guidelines) recommends that the IoT communications module support Power Saving Mode as defined in 3GPP TS 23.682 Release 12, and asks for randomised connection timers and back-off after network rejects.